Why I shall never leave the North

Terpsichore

Last night I attended an exhilarating concert by Huddersfield Choral Society in Huddersfield town hall. They sang Poulenc's Gloria and Vaughan Williams's A Sea Symphony (a wonderful setting of the words of Walt Whitman). The soloists were Sarah Fox and Jeremy Carpenter and they were accompanied by the magnificent orchestra of Opera North. I have been subscribing to the Choral for upwards of 10 years and that was the best I have ever heard them perform. Indeed it was one of the best concerts I have heard from any musicians anywhere.

Earlier in the day I attended an exhibition in Bradford by an artist I had never heard of called Martin Hearne. He paints his surroundings in Bradford and its people. I was enchanted and transfixed.  I don't think it is too much to call him a Lowry for out times.

This evening I will see the Royal Ballet dance Winter's Tale at the House and they will doubtless be superb.  But after the exhilaration of yesterday's concert by the Choral the Royal Ballet have such a hard act to follow. 

A week or so earlier I saw Northern Ballet's Cleopatra in Sheffield for the second time in the current season.

If I lived in London I am not sure that I would traipse back to Leeds or Sheffield for Northern Ballet, or to Huddersfield for the Choral or to Manchester for the Halle and I would miss so much.  That's why I will never desert the North for London.

• Like 2

The trick is ....is to keep a lot of Northern friends and go to see things when you visit them!! Obviously you would see less than if you lived there but quite honestly if I was firmly based up North I would rarely get down to London no doubt so would miss things there.....it cuts both ways in the end.