Am I barking up the wrong tree?

Balletsister

My nine year old dd is a lovely dancer. I have been told by her teachers that she is 'good'. I have no experience of dance myself apart from being a ballet mummy since dd was about three years old.

She auditioned for Rbs ja's last year and didn't get in. She is due to audition again this year. Her exam marks are always distinctions in all genres. My question is this: am I barking up the wrong tree?

We have just done festivals, ballet solo, where she was the youngest in her age group and she wasn't placed despite respectable marks. I am at a crossroads. Do we just let things take their course or do we look for extra associate classes etc?

I don't want to look back and think she didn't have the opportunity to fulfil her passion for dance but equally where do you stop seeking more and accept she's just very good rather than exceptional?? I don't know at this stage which category she falls into.

I was told by a friend once who has taught at very high levels such as Aus ballet, bejart that it is not always a good thing at such a young age to be on such programmes. Dd will be monitored closely and if not progressing in a certain way could look bad on her. Yes it has a lot of kudos to be on these programmes and yes dd would get a lot out of it but they can be expensive with all the travelling etc. I say don't worry too much about it as long as her day to day training is at a high standard, not learning bad habits that will be hard to break dd will be fine. Also don't worry about competition results, I read in an article about a recently retired principal from Aus Ballet that she never won a competition. Just be a supportive taxi driver.

• Like 1