Changes at White Lodge

balletla

Heard that there are big changes taking place at White Lodge and that the ballet principal/head of ballet has been made redundant as of yesterday and won't be replaced. Have also heard that a lot of other staff are leaving, both ballet and academic and all of the pastoral care staff as well. Feel sorry for the parents/children there at the moment who must be feeling very unsettled at the scale of these changes.

Crikey. I guess the changes are taking place for a reason and hopefully if well managed should achieve whatever it is they aim to achieve. I have no knowledge of white lodge but know that organisational change in a high profile setting is a challenge!

The new Artistic Director will head up dance for both White Lodge and Upper School - so no more separate WL vocational principal. Hope everyone settles into their new roles quickly and smoothly - this type of overhaul can be very stressful, but can also rejuvenate an organisation.

• Like 2

Congratulations Pirouette26 :D I think for those just starting thinks will be just as wonderful as any time.  I think it has been hard for those seeing staff leave but as you say, change can be good.  It would be lovely to know who is going to teach my DD when she goes into year 11 though!

• Like 1

Having the same head for WL and the US may be a very good thing in the long run as there has been a feeling, at least by some, that there was a bit of a disconnect between the two. That does not explain the departure of all the pastoral staff and many academic members of staff though.

Oh I don't think you have anything to feel unsettled about Pirouette26 - just enjoy all the excitement!