Holding turnout?

swanprincess

I have noticed that, whilst I can hold my turnout at barre, I struggle to maintain it in the centre, for example in adage. I find it hard to balance whilst working on steps such as developpes, when I have to stand on one turned-out foot. Any ideas for strengthening exercises would be much appreciated :)

Hello Swanprincess,

I'm by no means an expert and there can be all sorts of reasons why a student has difficulty maintaining turnout so it wouldn't be appropriate to suggest exercises for you without having watched you work - does that make sense?

Do you have access to a dance physio who could assess you and suggest which muscles you need to work on? If not, is your teacher "hands on" and can therefore see or feel which muscles perhaps aren't engaging as well as they could?

Hi Swanprincess it's very difficult to give exercises for this via an Internet forum. It's something I work on a lot in classes and in private coaching sessions. Part of the issue is awareness of the necessary muscles to engage. PM me if you want more info

• Like 3

It's hard to describe exercises on the forum but getting a floor barre DVD or having a look at some of the exercises suggested on Lisa Howell's ballet blog might be a good starting point if you cannot get advice from a dance teacher or dance physio. Most teachers should be able to give you exercises to do at home. You mention it is harder in the centre so one thing you might want to focus upon is not relying too much on the barre as this will help with weight placement in the centre.

• Like 2

Hi Swanprincess,

I am not a teacher or physio so I can't suggest exercises, but I like the advice given so far. However, in case it's useful, I did have this same problem and this was my experience.