Is ballet a sport?

Ballet A Sport?  

21 members have voted

1. 1. What is ballet to you? And Do you think it is difficult or?

• It is a sport
    • It is a performing art
    • It is a Sport AND performing art
    • It's difficult
    • It's ok
    • It's easy
  2. 2. How are you involved with ballet?

• I am a dancer
    • I am a teacher
    • I watch performances
    • I am a fan
    • My friends/relatives dance
    • I am a writer
    • I don't know anything
    • I don't care
  3. 3. Do you think some people look down on ballet/ ballerinas? (Please do tell me why)

• Yes
    • No

Hello. Just wondering if ballet is considered a sport or just a performing art?

Do you think ballet is a sport? Why? What makes it a sport/not a sport?

For me, I think ballet is difficult enough to be a sport. The high intensity training, stress, injuries and competitiveness makes it seem like a sport to me. But many people see it just as something pretty -because they don't see the 'behind the scenes'.

What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance. :D  :D

Edited by xdoodlehead

Hello xdoodlehead and welcome to the forum. :-)

As you are asking for help with research, may I draw your attention to this section of our Forum Acceptable Use Policy:

"Contacting members for research

We have a large constituency of dancers on the Forum so people may come here to find guinea pigs for their academic research. It is best that people seeking subjects should go through the dance schools so that bona fides can be checked, rather than soliciting help here.

Nonetheless, should you wish to post here, be aware that to take account of concerns about exploitation, particularly of children, we will remove postings unless it is made clear that it is over-18s who are being canvassed. If thinking of replying you should realise that we have no way of checking posters’ credentials and therefore advise caution before responding."