Royal Ballet Teacher Training Course or Dip RBS (TTC)

lollylamb1

I'm aware that this stopped running in 2000, however I was wondering if anyone could explain a bit more about it. I know a fair few people who are graduates of the course and attended the Royal Ballet School themselves.

Were there 2 courses - one for those destined to be professional dancers and one for teachers, was it only open to students of the lower and or upper schools or a separate entity? How long did the course run and why did it stop?

From reading adverts in old copies of the Dancing Times I seem to remember it was for 16 year olds and entry was open to everyone via an audition and academic suitability.But you still needed to have had a considerable amount of classical ballet training yourself,I think. I often wondered why the Teacher Training Course stopped too.

• 2 weeks later...

Hello. I am an ex grad of the course. The preliminary audition was the same one for both courses. We had a seperate final after the dancers course final. This entailed extra assessments, music awareness amongst others. There were a lot of us unsuccessful dancers course finalists who did the teachers course final,as I was aware at the time I was one of the only applicants who applied to both courses as I knew I wanted to teach. I couldn't be happier with how fate worked out.

Originally called the Craftsmans course; Dame Ninette de Valois set it up in the 60's with Valerie Adams, my teacher, who was a member of the company at the time.