Do You Feel The Moves?

There was a piece from the NY Times in yesterday's Links reporting research that suggested that ballet/dance watchers showed brain response signals as if they were dancers themselves, despite their knowing they could not manage the steps:

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/03/27/science/some-ballet-spectators-truly-know-how-to-feel-the-moves.html?_r=1

It struck me as odd when I found it, for I have no knowledge of ever feeling anything of the sort - but is there anyone else out there who feels it may be true for them? (The NYT link carries another to the full article describing the phenomenon.)

I've never experienced the phenomenon while watching ballet, but for many years now I've had vivid and recurring dreams where I am dancing en pointe. I stopped ballet at age 6 and have never even worn a pair of pointe shoes, but in the dreams I can dance beautifully en pointe and feel everything completely vividly. Not sure whether that's using the same part of the brain...fascinating stuff though!

So can I , Spanner! I have worn pointe shoes - on older friend's and it ended up with both of us being thrown out of our classes for the day and poor Julie got in to an awful row because of it. I still feel guilty about that!

• Like 1

I'm not aware of ever having had those feelings but I do see dancers when I am listening to the music. I caused some colleagues much amusement some years ago. We were stuck side by side in a mega-jam on the M5 and I was listening to Still Life at the Penguin Cafe and without realising at the time was doing the arm actions! (I've never had a dance lesson in my life, have got 2 left feet and am very clumsy!).

My Dad, when watching athletics, used to "participate" in the high jum, long jump and hurdles, much to our amusement!

• Like 1