miss.pointe

Hi all, I'm a ballet teacher and literally in the last couple of weeks have discovered my left foot has a bunion. I believe this is a combination of some poor dance teaching I received when younger, as well as the fact that my left foot is bigger than my right so I (foolishly) jammed it into a shoe too small for it because my right foot fit it fine.

My question is, how is this going to affect my teaching? I'm worried if I can't demonstrate properly, I won't be as successful as dance teacher as I would like. Is it going to get so bad I can't dance at all? Will I not be able to teach? Should I not go on pointe anymore? What can I do to prevent it getting worse?

I have read that bunions are specific to a foot type and as such are prone to them regardless of what you do. Also that it's not "if" they get worse, but when.

It's not bad enough for my GP to want to do anything about and I can't afford a dance physio.

Any advice would be so gratefully received! I am worried!

Me too but I'm not relying on my feet for my career at least :-( They run in families and are linked to foot shape and hypermobility as well as poorly firing shoes (I have to wear 'sensible' shoes for another foot condition but they run in my family). I would recommend you see a chiropodist or podiatrist, they can advise various appliances to wear to prevent deterioration. Your gp may be able to refer you to a podiatrist because of your career, definitely worth asking. I do know a couple of people who have had surgery and one of them didn't look like hers were very big at all so don't presume your gp will not do anything especially if they're causing pain.