Jump to content

Press Release: Sadler's Wells announces new Wild Card season

Recommended Posts

Wild Card


Vicki Igbokwe Mixed Bill
Friday 20 September 2013


Anand Bhatt Cooperire
Wednesday 30 October 2013


Laura Dajao Take a Closer Look
Wednesday 27 November 2013


Sadler’s Wells, Lilian Baylis Studio
Performances at 8pm; Pre-show events from 7pm  
Tickets: £15
Ticket Office 0844 412 4300 or www.sadlerswells.com  


This year Sadler’s Wells launched a new initiative, Wild Card, which opens up the Lilian Baylis Studio to the next generation of creative artists interested in programming and presenting work. Each season three young creatives have the opportunity to present the work of their choice in the Studio space at Sadler’s Wells, full supported by the theatre. After the success of the first Wild Card productions, this Autumn sees the next three creatives present their programmes of work.


The first programme of work in the Autumn 2013 Wild Card season is from Vicki Igbokwe the creative director of Uchenna Dance and an independent choreographer. On Friday 20 September Igbokwe presents a mixed bill that premieres her latest creation Our Mighty Groove, recreating a club in the theatre and features new work from Alesandra Seutin, Ella Mesma and Cindy Claes.


The second programme of work is from dance producer Anand Bhatt on Wednesday 30 October. Drawing inspiration from influences including Michael Jackson, Kathak and contemporary dance, he presents a mixed bill. The programme includes new work by choreographers Lewis Major and Karima El Amrani, featuring a commissioned score by composer Joel Harries.


The final Wild Card programme of work is from dancer, choreographer and founder of DaJance Arts Collective, Laura Dajao who presents Take A Closer Look on Wednesday 27 November. Based on her condition - multiple sclerosis, the evening features work with a range of different artists and interactive staging, inviting audiences to take their own journey and challenge their perspectives.


Wild Card is supported by the Andrew Lloyd Webber Foundation, The Eranda Foundation and the Garrick Charitable Trust

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...