A hard life

dramascientist

This is my first time posting, so hello to everybody. I have been inspired to write after reading all your posts, until I found this forum I thought I was the only one finding life with a talented dd hard. Today I have to tell her that despite all our efforts we cannot find funding for her to take up a place at Tring in 5th form dance in September. We live abroad so she does not qualify for the music and dance scheme and our last hope, my parents-in-law, said today that they cannot help. Oh well will have to apply again next year for 6 th form dance since we will qualify for DaDAs, I'm sure it would have been easier if she had been a sports woman!

• Like 1

Welcome dramascientist!

I know how you feel as I had to have this conversation with 2 of my DDs last year about not being able to afford to send them to Tring after they got in as we also live abroad and we couldn't find funding...

Make sure you check things for DaDa. Since you live abroad, you qualify for the Fees part of the DaDa but not for the maintenance part of it...

I'm sorry I might be the bearer of bad news...

Good luck!

Hi abfab

Thanks for the information. We realise that we will have to pay boarding fees etc but feel that would be possible....though I will probably only be able to retire when I'm 90! Oh well its a good job I like my job, why couldn't I have had a genius child, people seem to be falling over themselves trying to give funding to these gifted children, ho hum thats life I guess!

Hi dramascientist,

I'm new here too and dealing with similar issues of trying to navigate this road of bringing up a child with such a huge dream. If only there were a neutral body (not an examiner, but a group of ex-dancers) who could asses our kids at certain stages and let us know if they look like they have the potential or if they really need to consider other options.