Core strength

Tulip

Can I ask some of our knowlegable forum members, is core strength something that all dancers have to work on continuously? This is an assesment feed back that my daughter always gets. I felt her dad was a bit harsh when he said well this is an ongoing correction and she should have had it sorted by now. She is 16 and her core strength is not bad and she does do her recomended exercises set by her teachers. Do some dancers have a very strong core or is it a mature thing?

I am far from an expert but I believe it is on-going. My dd worked very hard on core stability after being told it was such an intergral part of dancing and following a lot of work, achieved an RBS SA place. That said, her teacher there and at her other schools are continually keeping their eye on her posture and giving exercises to promote core strength. I don't think it is something to get to and then you've 'got it' if you see what I mean. A bit like a friend of mine who said 'well I had singing lessons a few years ago so I can sing'-no, training/technique/strength is on-going and Katherine Jenkins still has a singing coach and dancers will continually work on core strength in their lessons and lead up to performances on stage.

Swe

I'm pretty sure it's ongoing and that is why Pilates complements Dance so well. At dd's Associates class at least 15 minutes of the ballet class is spent on core strengthening exercises on top of warm-up and stretching. She also has the "Pilates for Young Dancers" DVD and after Easter will be doing an hour's Pilates for Dancers class before Snr Ballet.

She is 13 and apparently has excellent core strength but like most things, I'm pretty sure it's a case of "Use it or Lose it". :-)