First pointe shoe fitting - London recommendations

AmandaBallet

My dd has been told that she can start pointe work in the new year and as we’re visiting London over the holidays I thought it would be a good opportunity to get her fitted (we don’t have anywhere local to us for this). If we booked an appointment at e.g Bloch presumably she would only get to try out Bloch pointe shoes? (I have zero knowledge of how this all works!). So is there a recommended shop in central London where she could try a variety of brands? We don’t really have the time to do lots of different appointments at different stores unfortunately…Thanks!

Bloch, Dancia, Freed and Capezio are all very near each other in Covent Garden. Don’t feel shy to ask them to put on hold ‘possible’ pointe shoes for you after the fitting, as you go around the other shops to try on shoes there. They are used to this and totally understand.  You’ll want to make sure you get the best fit for your DD so it’s worth it going around these shops for fitting, as many as you can. I know that some get swayed by a certain brand that certain vocational school(s) use and would therefore only go to that particular shop without trying on shoes at others. It’s often very obvious when these shoes don’t fit well.