Additional Ballet Practice

startedat17

Hi, so I’m relatively new to dancing ballet (sure I did it when I was a toddler, but I stopped and forgot most of what I learnt so I started it up again recently) but I currently have only 1 lesson a week (it’s private) for an hour.

i was wondering how I could practice outside of this in terms of conditioning, learning vocabulary, material that I can use to further improve my learning (I.e. books) or somewhat emulating the life of a ballet student - I have access to a dance studio so I can practice.

thanks

• Like 1

Hello! I started ballet last year. Initially I was doing one 1hr class a week, but  I found once I started to take 3 classes a week a couple of months ago I really started to improve. Also strength training (I do 2-4 hours of weights a week) has really helped. Are there any classes in your area you could attend? This is the best way to improve by consistently going to class.

• Like 1

Hi, startedat17 and welcome from me too.  

I would echo Angela’s advice about going to class, even online classes if there are none near you.  Group classes are ideal because you get to see other people’s corrections and apply them to yourself if necessary.  Pilates, swimming, cross-training and so on are ideal for ballet.  

In terms of learning vocabulary, there are several glossaries/dictionaries of ballet vocab; the RAD has one here:  https://www.radenterprises.co.uk/products/dictionary-of-classical-ballet-terminology?variant=40849017995427

I would advise caution about practicing alone/unsupervised as a beginner, because you could well end up accidentally using incorrect technique and cementing that into your muscle memory, only to have to unlearn it later.  My daughter’s dance physio used to say “Practice doesn’t make *perfect*, practice makes *permanent*.”