Newbie opera advice please

Timmie

I’m quite new to opera, so far I’ve seen: Tosca (loved it, made me cry), Don Giovanni (very busy and entertaining), L'elisir d'amore (lovely) and The Magic Flute (nice singing, story slight strange, I’m still not quite sure what was going on). I’m booked for La Traviata (favourite opera so far, but not yet seen live) and Rigoletto.

Of the others coming up at ROH what’s a newbie going to like? Macbeth or Nabucco? I guess The Marriage of Figaro is a must see? I’ve got a fairly short attention span so nothing too heavy 😄. And I’ll be booking another Tosca. Angela Gheorghiu is one of the few opera singers I’ve heard of 😁, so I guess there’ll be heavy demand for her performances?

I appreciate any guidance.

1 hour ago, Timmie said:

Of the others coming up at ROH what’s a newbie going to like? Macbeth or Nabucco? I guess The Marriage of Figaro is a must see? I’ve got a fairly short attention span so nothing too heavy 😄. And I’ll be booking another Tosca. Angela Gheorghiu is one of the few opera singers I’ve heard of 😁, so I guess there’ll be heavy demand for her performances?

I appreciate any guidance.

Ooh Timmie, the cognoscenti *love* these sort of quizzes. Hope you get loads of interesting replies. Let me start things off with a few basic comments, which no doubt everyone will disagree with. 

I am very partial to Macbeth, and will be going at least twice. It’s rip-roaring stuff, pretty sensational music when done right, and it doesn’t last too long (the previous ROH production was super-speedy, this one though takes itself more seriously - as does the singer giving us his Macbeth - which may slow things down a bit). Earlier Verdi than the ones you’ve seen so you’ll find it straightforward (it’s the same plot, btw, not always a given). A definite booking, I would say, unlike Nabucco (which has some wonderful things in it but can drag).