Year 7 audition info for a complete beginner!😂

Crazylifecrazykids

Hi

Looking for experience please, would someone be kind enough to tell me what generally happens at the first auditions for Year 7 RBS and Elmhurst please. Things like do they need to do splits both types front and box, froggies, improvisation etc that sort of thing... do they take their shoes off etc. All this is new to us and I'm on a fact finding mission 😂 thanks in advance 😊

Edited by Crazylifecrazykids

It’s pretty much a yes to all of the above. At Royal, there is a lot of standing front, side, back to see physical stuff. Some stretching just as you’ve described above and they take shoes off I believe. A simple ballet class with barre, port de bras, center work, simple pirouette, allegro and corner allegro. Then some improvisation to music. 
It’s the same for Elmhurst although not so much ‘ looking ‘ at the beginning. I’m not sure if there’s any impro at Emhurst either.

• Like 2

33 minutes ago, valentina said:

It’s pretty much a yes to all of the above. At Royal, there is a lot of standing front, side, back to see physical stuff. Some stretching just as you’ve described above and they take shoes off I believe. A simple ballet class with barre, port de bras, center work, simple pirouette, allegro and corner allegro. Then some improvisation to music. 
It’s the same for Elmhurst although not so much ‘ looking ‘ at the beginning. I’m not sure if there’s any impro at Emhurst either.

Thankyou, is it important they are able to get flat down in splits both legs and box splits? DD can do one leg flat, the other almost there but box is more of a challenge! Lol 

41 minutes ago, Crazylifecrazykids said:

Thankyou, is it important they are able to get flat down in splits both legs and box splits? DD can do one leg flat, the other almost there but box is more of a challenge! Lol