Hello, 

i wonder if anyone has any recommendations for leotards more flattering for larger dancers? I’m an overweight student with an exam soon. I’m just looking for something to cover me up a bit more than the RAD Faith leotard that is the standard for my school - it just sits too low for my personal preference. 

Thank you 

xx

I've worn the Bloch Adagio leotard for an exam before - it's a tank leotard with gathered front but sits high enough I can wear a sports bra underneath. (I wear a Large due to my height rather than weight - and black runs smaller than the other colours).

Does it have to be a specific colour? Does your school need you to wear a leotard with an RAD logo on it? (RAD exam rules don't require it) I've never found any of the official Freed leotards to be cut right for my body shape.

• Like 1

Bloch is a good suggestion.  Also, if you can wear a black leotard, this might be worth trying as it has a built in bra:  https://www.justballet.co.uk/collections/ladies/products/capezio-bratek-camisole-leotard

or if you prefer a tank leo with a dance bra underneath, this might do (I think this also comes in other colours) as the front ruching is adjustable:  https://www.justballet.co.uk/collections/ladies/products/just-ballet-black-tank-leotard

Do you need much larger than a uk 14? Most of the bigger brands like capezio and Bloch seem to stop at about that size. I was browsing an American site the other day and noticed they had a specific plus size section so that might give you more choice? If the ones mentioned I’ve had the capezio bratek and it’s pretty flattering and a decent thick material

Well I won't go on too much about this as it has been a bugbear of mine for the last five or six years now and nothing has changed in that time!

As Moomin says if you are any larger than a size 14 it's not going to be a good outcome( I usually say something much stronger but perhaps not on the Forum)