The Australian Ballet 2019 season

Melbourne:

• The Happy Prince - new Graeme Murphy - 19-26 March
  • Alice's Adventures in Wonderland - Wheeldon - 8-22 June
  • LAC - Jean-Christophe Maillot - Les Ballets de Monte Carlo - 27 June-6 July
  • Sylvia - Stanton Welch - 31 August-10 September
  • The Nutcracker - Sir Peter Wright - 17-28 September

Sydney:

• Verve - mixed bill of Stephen Baynes' Constant Variants, Alice Topp's Aurum, and Tim Harbour's Filigree and Shadow - 5-25 April
  • The Happy Prince - 1-18 May
  • Sylvia - 8-23 November
  • The Nutcracker - 30 November-18 December

Plus Alice in Brisbane 25 February-2 March and The Nutcracker in Adelaide 8-12 October.

Plus Paris in July, and a mixed bill at the Joyce Theater in New York in late May, comprising Aurum, Unspoken Dialogues by Stephen Baynes, and a new Tim Harbour.

Casting will be available on the company website approximately one week before each season opens. Allegedly.

My brother and I have a joint subscription to Australian Ballet's Melbourne seasons. This means five nights over the period March-September. For 2017 it was $636 each for second-rank seats. For 2018 the exact same seats will cost us $812 each, which is $176 or (I think) a 27% increase. And for three of five shows we're further back than usual as they're removing the front two rows to accommodate a larger orchestra pit. Sadly all the cheaper seats are either way at the side (restricted view although they rarely admit it) or way up the back. Grrr 😡

Edited by Sophoife
Specified seat quality.
  • Like 1

• 2 weeks later...