My first night at work tonight since 1996.

Lisa O`Brien

I start a job tonight, working nights ( not exactly sure how many each week) from 11 pm until 7.30 am at the 4 star Canal Court Hotel in Newry. I applied for the position of Night Porter, but was offered Receptionist, even though I have never done anything like this before. Haven't worked since I stopped work when I became  heavily pregnant with Sean in 1996 ( I was doing care work, manually lifting an elderly lady throughout the night on my own).  I don't HAVE to work. My mental health problems, of which there are a few, means I am exempt, although I am permitted to work if I wish to. I want to as I am bored stupid, but I also need to. My 21 year old son Sean is working PT at a supermarket. He really, really wants to at least try to become a Primary School teacher. His BTEC in Health and Social Care, which he finished in June 2015 is now more or less obsolete, as BTEC radically changed the following year. He could send off his transcript to see if it still maps over, but he would rather study something up to date and more relevant. ( Due to a mix up in his HND he and three others failed it). He is going to study an Adult Access course, covering History, Maths, English Literature, Psychology. It's worth 5 GCSEs and 3 A Levels. But unlike BTEC they will be proper A Levels . Because he has already studied one Level 3 qualification he will get no funding. The PT version of the Adult Access course costs over £500, studied over two years. The FT is one year and is completely free for everyone, regardless of any previous study you have done. The only criteria is that you are over the age of 19 and have been out of FT education for a year or more. This FT version is three and a half days a week. No placements or anything. He will need money to get to college each day, and for his toiletries or whatever he needs. He doesn't know yet the exact days and times of the course, but he thinks he will have to either reduce h