Associate classes - increasing number of hours of ballet pw

Sugarplummum

Hello,

This is my first post so I apologise if im posting in the wrong section 😕

My 9yr old  daughter has been doing dance for the last 3 years (ballet, tap and modern).

But she has a fondness for ballet and keeps telling me she wants to be a ballerina when she is older, and as much as im taking that comment with a pinch of salt 😉...obviously if it's what she's passionate about then i want to encourage that. I have no dance background so I don't know if she's got what they look for as regards ballet, however she has managed to achieve a distinction in both her pre primary and primary exams (but think these might be easier than grades?) And currently working on grade 1. 

Sorry im babbling...

So my issue is, the dance school she is at only do one 45 min class for her grade per week, and I want her to do more. 

The teacher wont let her go to another school alongside (understandable) , unless it's an associate class!

Ive googled it and it comes up with RBS 😲....i don't think we are quite at that level yet, so my question is, are there any other associate classes which would better suit her level, or have you got any advice as regards other ways to bump up the number of hours of ballet she does without upsetting her teacher?

Her teacher has told us to audition for EYB and get her in a summer school (was looking at OPES) so im in the process of sorting that atm. 

Any advice much appreciated for a mum totally out of her depth 🙈

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hello Sugarplummum and welcome. :) 

Yes, RBS Junior Associates is what you would be looking at for a 9 year-old.  Some Associate schemes like Central School of Ballet's in London start in Year 7 and can be an excellent way to increase good quality training hours for those not at full-time Vocational school.