New school year

Harwel

Well, another school year starts and another emotional drop off at vocational school is looming.  After such a lovely summer holidays spending time together, there always seems to be such a hole left when ds is dropped back at school.    

He is so excited to be going back and of course we are thrilled that he can follow his dreams.  With only 2 years left of upper school these long holidays will soon be a thing of the past.  

I wish all parents of vocational students (new and old) safe journeys and strong nerves for the ensuing days. My Tring-a-ling is returning today to be there to welcome new starters tomorrow.  Good luck all. 

• Like 6

Thank you, I am a newbie at this, I never imagined dd would be going off to school but it's happening.  I have so many worries for dd, will she be homesick, will she cope with the huge workload of A Levels plus dance etc.  I am also worrying about my 2 other dds at home and how much they will miss her.  Feel emotional today :(

• Like 7

Lemon girl I'm sure it will work out fine - your dd is 16 and she'll have made a logical decision to board.

When my dd started boarding last year I found the 1st 4 weeks tough but fine after. She is where she has been desperate to be. She was wanting to go back in the 2nd weekof the holidays! ! (Maybe I'm very mean 😂😂😂😂)

• Like 3

7 hours ago, Lemongirl said:

Thank you, I am a newbie at this, I never imagined dd would be going off to school but it's happening.  I have so many worries for dd, will she be homesick, will she cope with the huge workload of A Levels plus dance etc.  I am also worrying about my 2 other dds at home and how much they will miss her.  Feel emotional today :(

It is a very tough time for us mums, but I think they cope better than us.  When ds first went my younger son used to go and sleep in his brothers room.  They do have a huge workload but they manage very well and need their exeat weekends and holidays for sleep and eating!