Elmhurst "Summer Rendezvous" show

Had a wonderful time at the show on Saturday afternoon and thought I'd do a quick review (I'm not good at technical things so it'll be quite vague!!). This was programme 1 and I'll be seeing programme 2 on Friday (not much different but a couple of different dances I believe).

The evening started with a delightful "Mazurka" by the year 9s (I think) choreographed by Denise Lewin. The students looked lovely and performed beautifully - it was a lovely bright opening.

Next was a contemporary piece, "Deja Vu", danced by the graduate year choreographed by Garry Tomlinson. I'd heard a bit about this before the performance but tried to watch it with an open mind, and actually I quite enjoyed it. It definitely looked under-rehearsed (which it was) and it looked like it needed developing further, but the dancers performed it well and as I said, was quite an enjoyable piece.

Then the turn of the year 11s in "La Purezza Delle Linee" choreographed by Gloria Grigolato and Lee Robinson and danced to Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No 1. A strong group of students and the dance showed their strengths well - I'm glad lots are staying at Elmhurst and I wish them all well for the next stage of their training.

Next was the highlight of the show for many of us - a bit of Fosse - "Rich Man's Frug" from Sweet Charity and re-created by Michelle Blair. Look it up on YouTube if you've never seen it and you'll get a taste of what we were treated to. The graduates were absolutely fabulous in this. They managed to keep the feeling and style as it should be, but didn't over-do it. Special mention should go to Alyshia Waite in the main role (so well cast), and to Josh Woodhams and Joe Taylor. Can't wait to see it again on Friday.

Then a chance for the younger students to perform for their parents in "Consider Yourself" - some stars in the making in there and a good opportunity for them to practice their performance skills.