Tutu novice question

r3dh3d

DD has just been issued a tutu on loan from her ballet school, to do her first ever festival solo. Which is a wonderful thing.

I don't know much about tutus (haven't had one since I was 4). I think it is a pancake (it has a hoop), which is supposed to be flat afaik - but exactly how flat is it supposed to be? I'm not sure whether it needs to be perked up at all. it will have been stored under a heap of the things for years, so it's entirely possible it's too flat. Then again, maybe it's just right.

Could anyone share a picture / link of what this style is supposed to look like, please? (And then I can work out how to get it gently spruced up)

Thanks!

I'm new to all this tutu stuff as well!

I've been spending quite a bit of time here, as well as on this Facebook group which is a site for second hand tutus and costumes.  I've gotten a pretty good idea in a short period of time what they are meant to look like.  

There's things you can do to perk up a tutu, like making sure it's tacked (just google "tacking a tutu"), or using types of stiffening spray on the underside.  Still, as the tutu is on loan, you should probably ask your teacher or the person who loaned it to you - they should have a much better idea of how it should look, and should have ideas how to fix it if it's droopy.  

Tell your daughter congratulations on her first solo!

Thanks folks - good recommendation on the fb group, I'll definitely join that.  I'm hoping to go on a tutu making course in October (fortunately I can sew pretty well) at which point I will know EVERYTHING there is to know about the things, it's just a question of coping until then!

I'm going to need to do some basic repairs/alterations to the thing - shoulder elastic has gone (it always does as far as I can see, we had to replace the elastics on 16 of the things for the group), that sort of thing.