what age/grade for ballet pirouettes?

Mrs Brown

I am just curious. My daughters both dance and the 7 year old came home from school today and said her friend has started learning pirouettes now she is in grade 1. Really? at 7? I thought they didn't learn them until they were higher up grades. certainly not grade 1 in ISTD which is what my girls do. Do people really start learning them so young?

I'm not an expert, but from observing other classes in RAD it's Grade 4 for preparation, Grade 5 for starting to turn (my DD skipped those two grades and had to learn in Int Foundation by watching the other kids though). Kids who do jazz seem to do them earlier, I assume because they are a bit easier from parallel and on a low demi-pointe.

(Edited to add that 'pirouette' can mean other types of turn though, eg 'posé pirouettes', which I guess is another possible turn they are referring to?)

Edited by Cara in NZ

Yes , it's been the same for our DS. Preparation in RAD grade 4. He's skipped grade 5 as he's now at vocational school where he's practising pirouettes more in his inter-foundation class. I'm certainly no expert, with little knowledge myself, so maybe other DC learn them younger ?? I'm sure the teachers on this forum can help you with your query :)

DD started learning pirouette after attending an associate audition and was the only one who hadn't been taught them previously she was year 5 so age 9 at the time.

She was studying BBO, I don't think pirouette was part of syllabus-I think she was about grade 3. She now does IDTA & RAD but I have no idea if they do pirouette for exam work, she is now 12 so much older than your DD.