What would you do ?

Ellie

Putting aside financial need and perceived or real intellectual/physical capacity, what area would you ideally like to work in ? ( This is the Not Dance forum remember !) Would it be an astronaut /a fisherman/paleontologist/doctor/carpenter /chef? I think that I'd quite like to be an historian or a gardener at a beautiful stately home. I'm also interested in psychology, but I'm a rather sensitive soul....so not sure that would work out too well. x

• Like 4

If I didn't need to support my family I'd rather be a photographer (wildlife, travel, and dare I say dance).   I utterly, utterly, utterly loathe what I do for a living, so I frequently take flights of fantasy that also see me as an archaeologist, palaeontologist, marine biologist etc !

• Like 4

When I started high school, my parents filled in a form with a section "What career would you like your child to follow?" I've always wanted to follow the career Dad wrote in the box - millionaire.

I've been stuck in IT for 35 years; when were started, we weren't in "IT" - it was "EDP" or "Computing". I did try to get out once but I failed dismally. Given my time again, I'd probably train as an engineer.

• Like 6

I think I would like to be a casting director for a major opera company.  The trouble is that entry-level jobs in that sort of field are not only ridiculously competitive, but tend to pay less than half what I currently make, and I do need to keep a roof over my head.  I do frequently get told by opera singers that I should be working in casting... but I also frequently get told by opera singers that I should be an agent, and I'm pretty sure I DON'T want to do that.