Advice on future vocational training

hgib23

My 11 year old DD wants to follow a career pathway of a professional ballet dancer. We were unable to consider applying for year 7 vocational school as my older DD has secured a place for post 16 performing arts college, and we are unable to fund two children at once.

What else can I do to help prepare her for post 16 entry, we already do associate classes, summer schools, and EYB.

Should we focus on syllabus grades as a priority?

I have no previous experience in anything dance related so learning as I go along!, but don't want to do anything to hinder a post 16 application.

All advice gratefully received.

My dd dida patchwork of dance up to going to vocational school and the thing I think I regret now is not keeping a better eye on injury prevention and resolution. As she had different teachers in different places and we had paid up various fees and there was pressure to attend I think she carried on through injury when should not have and I didnt know enough about it. So by time she got to vocational school she had an injury that keeps her off ballet and needs surgery. At least now she is getting the care and attention to resolve it. So I think I suggest that sure you make sure you have a teacher that is good and undestands your child as a dancer and that you can get access to got dance health advice and a physio .

• Like 4

I'm not an expert but I would focus on more non syllabus opportunities rather than grades. During the auditions they focus on what is in front of them (the dancer) and they are expected to follow an unseen class . Technical ability,musicality,performability and the ability to pick choreography up quickly are all desirable attributes to bring to the audition - not all learned by syllabus teaching. Associates/EYB and summer schools are all good ????

• Like 5

I agree with Kat09. Focus on good quality non syllabus classes rather than grades.