Jump to content

Mrs Brown

Members
  • Content Count

    180
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

127 Excellent

Recent Profile Visitors

671 profile views
  1. I have absolutely no idea at all BUT my 11 year old would love to read your book when it is done!
  2. not the same but my daughter did a competition over video and normally she shines and does well in this with the same adjudicator but this time didn't even get noticed for finals let alone place. I am sure you are right that personalities just don't come across on video in the same way as they do live but also it is harder to perform when the person you are performing for can't be seen so the performance isn't as good in the first place. with regards to whether you should have postponed or not I would say no. My daughter is missing some exams this term, she is now stuck on those grades for the moment whilst everyone guesses what is going to happen in the future. We are hoping they will now just skip the exams and move on to the next grade but who knows and it would be a shame not to have taken it at all. I would rather she took it and get a lower mark than normal than never take it at all. I think the pupils will have to just mark it down to part of a very strange year.
  3. Motomum that is a shame but you are right, all you can do is let him work through it himself in his own time and let him know you are there to listen. It is scary for them, pushing their much loved activity away is how some of them will protect themselves from it not being possible in the future for whatever reason. If they can't go back to lessons, or in his case start at vocational school, in the autumn then he probably thinks it will be easier to deal with if he can convince himself he didn't want to anyway.
  4. Ooh someone else who studies Spanish dancing. Not many around
  5. https://softfloorkids.co.uk/category/dance-tiles/ we have ordered the budget one. It does say they can be used for ballet
  6. not really planning to use it for ballet but we have just ordered (and waiting for it to come in stock) a bit of flooring from www.softfloor.co.uk We want it for tap and flamenco practice mainly but they have a few different ones and they look quite thick so I am not sure if that might help. They can go over carpet too because of the thickness. but I haven't got it to try it yet and see.
  7. my daughter is struggling too. she turned 11 this week. She is all over the place. has she finished primary school or not, is she going to get transfer day for secondary school or not. all her competitions and festivals have been cancelled. she was excited about exams due to be taken in the summer but those won't be happening. She was halfway through learning one new dance and had just finished learning one but now they will have to change before she gets to compete them as the length will be wrong by the autumn. She had other dances she was going to do for the last time this term, tutu only just fits and she was going to squeeze into it but now won't have the chance, dance school show cancelled etc. To her her little world is just not as she knows it. She won't do online lessons, won't really practice and feels things are a bit pointless. Your daughter isn't alone. I wish I could suggest something but I haven't got anywhere yet. Feel free to message me directly if you want to.
  8. well done for all those with achievements, lovely to read such happy news. Absolutely no dancing going on in our house at the moment at all. My normally ridiculously motivated daughter doesn't want to do any dancing, I have found online lessons and everything but she doesn't want to as it isn't her usual classes at the studio.
  9. this isn't a lesson but might be nice for people all the same West End Wind in the Willows available for free online streaming with the hope people will make donations. https://www.willowsmusical.com
  10. Someone asked on Claudia Dean's facebook page if it would be possible to watch after it as they would be early hours of the morning where they are. She said there will be an announcement on her social media which should make it possible to watch after the event.
  11. I am not clever enough to do this - mine will just have to stay up and do it live!!!
  12. and yes that would be Friday night for us. thanks for pointing that out or we would have missed it!
  13. The Claudia Dean times are on her facebook page. I just tried to share the picture but it is too big and I can't work out how to make it smaller she says for times round the world. Brisbane 07:00 Sydney 08:00 Los Angeles 2pm/14:00 PDT London 9pm/21:00 GMT New York 5pm/17:00 EDT Auckland 10:00 NZDT Toronto 5pm/17:00 EDT Singapore 05:00 SGT (in case my working out into 24hr clock is wrong I have put the 12hr info she posted too)
  14. that is very true. mine will just practice the stuff they know, general stretching, progressing ballet technique which they have been shown how to do properly.
×
×
  • Create New...