First Position: Ballet Documentary

Nana Lily

Ballet.coers we need to see this film in the UK!!!! They have a facebook page, is there anyway we can coordinate a "bring it to the UK campaign"? on their FB page, I'm not too good with FB, any ideas?

http://www.balletdocumentary.com/

"Follow in the inspirational footsteps of six talented ballet dancers (ages nine to nineteen) as they struggle to maintain form in the face of injury and personal sacrifice on their way to one of the most prestigious youth ballet competitions in the world. First Position is a feature length documentary about a love of dance and a drive to succeed that trumps money, politics and even war.

With unprecedented (and exclusive) access to the Youth America Grand Prix, the largest competition that awards full scholarships to top ballet schools, First Position takes audiences on a yearlong journey around the world. At a time when art, music and dance for children are severely under-funded, the film reveals the struggles and success, the pain and extraordinary beauty of an art form so many children across the globe are determined to dedicate their lives to…despite the odds."

• Like 1

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I really want to see it as well. My DD and her friends have been to RBS summer school several times with one of the young ladies in the film and she is amazing!! I have no idea how to get it over here. I know it nearly didn't get shown in America due to running out of funding at one point.

• 1 month later...

I am (actually we are) planning to see this film today .....if I do I will try to give you my view of it - for what that's worth..... :)

It's a lovely sunny day here - in the low 70's - however - an afternoon spent in a darkened movie house. What price dedication!

(just kidding - couldn't resist)

• Like 6