Adult Ballet in Bristol

FullContretemps

I remember a while ago there were some discussions of a school in or near Bristol (I think) for adult ballet but I can't find it using the search tool (excuse my incompetence). I think David somebody went there and one or two others I can't remember. Can anybody shed any light on this? It's for a friend who lives in Bristol who used to do ballet when she was younger, just recreationally, and is looking to start again - probably just a once-a-week hobby thing for her but I thought somebody here might have some pointers to some classes even if not that school.

Thanks for your help!

Don't think this is where David went but your friend could look into Dance Station/344 ballet school . I have no personal experience of the adult classes but know they do them in a variety of styles, including ballet, tap, modern. They are based in Fishponds but have branches elsewhere in the city. The school was recommended to us for our teenage DD originally but she got into vocational school so we never followed up on it.

www.dancestation.org.uk

I think that Dave Wilson goes to the Bristol Russian Ballet School. I may be wrong about this, though. He writes a blog called something like DaveTriesBallet and that is his Twitter name as well, and so you could contact him for suggestions.

Yes that's correct Aileen.

We had a very good ex Royal teacher who came to Brighton to do a couple of classes at Brighton College and she was based in Bristol and seemed to run a few classes in the area. Some of her pupils came all the way from Bristol to here to do the classes as well.

I'll see if I can root out her name. I'll be seeing someone tomorrow who did the classes with me too hopefully between us we will remember!

If it's more of a hobby, then 344 in Fishponds would be good. The classes are pay as you go and there are different levels. My elder dd goes to the adult classes in ballet and tap.