open class - etiquette for the centre

mimi66

Hi, I am a newbie for this forum, but decided to be a bit brave and post a new topic in this thread.

I started ballet as an adult (though I did a couple of years of ballet (not very serious) as a child), and like many adults, learned to dance in open classes.

Having been dancing over 10 years, it seems to me that I encounter more and more people in the class who are perhaps not aware of various practical ballet conventions which make up what may be called "class room etiquette".

I feel that this is because teaching those "etiquettes" is not considered something a ballet teacher has to worry about in an open class setting. It is true that for adults some of them are really just common sense. And, yes, ultimately it is up to the teacher to manage his/her class.

But as the number of ballet lovers who learned ballet in non- syllabus setting/open classes increases, sadly such ignorance (or forgetfulness?) are becoming positively dangerous! I have seen situations like people overtaking others in front during the grand allegro, people constantly encroaching into other peoples space (when there are plenty of room in the opposite sides for them to move). Or those who wear rings (v.chanky, too) or bangles (watches, too) to the class who inevitably dance too close behind you....

I have looked up about this subject, but didn't find one specifically for the centre work. I thought it would be useful to hear from people those conventional classroom etiquette, as I for one would like to know for example the most conventional way to form a small group (as in the shape) of 3, 5, 7 across the floor etc. I understand that these sometimes have to be adopted, and that one should respect the "local" rules of each class. And that the ballet teacher who is teaching that class has the last word in that class.

But it would be nice to know the basic rules. Any thoughts welcome,  mimi66

• Like 1

• Replies 146
  • Created
  • Last Reply