WL or Elmhurst?

J9wot242

Hello All, I'm new to this ballet scene but I wondered if anyone had any advice with regards to WL and Elmhurst.

My DD has been an associate at Elm for 3 years and a JA for 1 year.  She has got through to the finals for Elm and we have been really impressed with the tour round and how the school is run.  We are more turned towards Elm (if she gets offered a place) but unsure what to do if she is lucky enough to get offered a place at WL.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

There are so many factors involved in deciding where to send your child if indeed sending them away to school is the right thing for them.

You not only have to consider the quality of the training but all the other things you would be thinking avout at a normal school, academics, ethos, pastoral care, distance from home etc.

What suits one may not suit another

I suggest you post this in the doing dance section where there are lots if parents who have had to make similar decisions.

And good luck to her for finals.

There are other threads on similar discussions. Most don't have a choice. Some children are offered one, but not the other, so WL, not Elmhurst, or Elmhurst not WL. If you do have a choice there are many practical considerations.

If you require funding although both schools offer MDS they fund different different things. Distance from home is an important consideration as you will not know until your child starts vocational school how they will cope (and this can change as they move through the school), so there is distance to the school in terms of time as well as how much it will cost in fuel (now a real issue for some with fuel prices) or rail fares. Additional costs are school and dance uniform, music lessons and Bupa cover. All these items add up.