Ideal weight for dancers?!!

swanprincess

I'm sorry if this is a bit of a sensitive subject, and I'm also sorry if this post turns into a rant, but I am looking for some advice.....

As a few of you may know, I have been battling anorexia for about 4 years. Recently, I have been doing well, and as such, have been discharged from outpatient treatment. However, with the pressure of auditions, I have been struggling again. I am trying to find some information to reassure myself that I don't need to be emaciated to go to ballet school (from a young age, I was in awe of the Russian dancers, particularly those at the Vaganova, who all seem so desperately thin), so what BMI (or weight range- I am just under 158cm) should a ballet dancer have?? I just feel trapped in a vicious circle, of trying to eat 'normal' amounts to be healthy, which results in feeling fat, which results in cutting down my intake even more..... Will being underweight prevent me from getting in to dance school?!!

• Like 3

• Replies 68
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

dear lovely Swanprincess, you do not need to be emaciated to be a dancer. Dancers need to be strong and fit. I don't know the answer to your question but I DO know that you need to take care of your instrument i.e.your body.  Tend to it and love it. Imagine a violinist with the best violin in the world...they would not neglect it but would be gentle and loving. You must do the same with yourself.  All the best in your endeavours

• Like 20

Oh Swanprincess, bless you, and wishing you a continued and successful recovery :wub:

This is probably something that you need to talk over with support from your GP and others. I do hope they haven't just discharged you and are leaving you to get on with it by yourself?