Does my daughter have good ballet feet?

AliceInWonderland

My DD is 10 years old.  I'm a bit of a novice but understand that you need a certain type of foot to succeed in ballet.  Does my DD have good feet and what else should I be looking for?

8443421039_b2c2bace5f_m.jpg

8443420809_9e746d443c_m.jpg

8443421499_6eac37e2d8_m.jpg

She dances beautifully and with her heart so hoping she has the other ingredients!!

Any help most gratefully received!

Welcome to the forum :)  

Can't really help with anything useful about your dd's feet, except to say they look rather my my dd's which have always been good and strong for pointe work - but not with that lovely arch that catches the eye (but has it's own problems).  Others will be able to tell you more about that.

• Like 1

All I will say is that although there are many different exercises you can do to strengthen and improve feet, essentially all you can do is make the best of what you have got. No amount of exercises will give you "banana feet" if you don't have them - but then again that type of foot can be prone to injury, fall out of pointe shoes, and so on.

Exercises given by the Dance physio have improved my dd's feet no end, but her feet are still quite straight. She makes up for it by having flat turnout and beautiful arms - and trying to make the best of what you've got!