A friend needs help with an application photo

ScottishDancerMum

Hiya yes

Basically

stand facing the front in first position

Right or left leg to the side (depending which leg she can get highest!)

Then lift (develope) leg to side turned out from hip

arms in second position

Hopefully the child should be able to follow those instructions too 😳

Edited by Dancing unicorn

4 hours ago, Pas de Quatre said:

Why isn't her teacher helping?  Whenever any of my pupils wish to apply with photos I help guide the pose while mum takes the pics.  Having an older student there can be useful too. 

I asked, but she didn't tell me.  I promise this isn't me... I would have done this with our teacher as I'm no expert.

• Like 1

Asking DD to get photos done at school was not easy nor that successful....

I think courses (especially those that must get huge numbers of applications like RBS/Elmhurst) that decide on photos alone are very misguided...

Also, those that offer audition (eg YBSS/ENBS) option provide something back - a great class & chance to dance with peers & experince style of institution. It feels far easier to part with those hefty application fees if you know they actually get to see them dance in person & choose from that...

• Like 2

Oh gosh I think I’m one of those nightmare overbearing teachers, I wouldn’t dream of letting any of mine send in photos I hadn’t personally taken. I remember way back actually researching the most flattering angles for dance photos. Then I sit and scrutinise the photos zooming in and out vetoing photos before I put together the albums, organised by audition school, so the parents don’t have to work out which photo belongs where. Those successful students are wonderful free advertising, so you get out what you put in 

• Like 12