Trying to love Don Q - What do you like about ballets?

I'm a bit of a novice regarding ballet, really. Seen plenty of Tchaikovsky works plenty of times, and a few more recent inventions (loved Alice in Wonderland). Also enjoy La Fille Mal Gardée and Giselle.

I've never seen Don Q live, and we started watching the Carlos Acosta ROH DVD last night and confess to finding it a bit dull in places. Now I'm not going to make any final judgement on this until I've seen it in the flesh and a few more times, but it did make me wonder what it is about ballets that make me like them. Is it the music, the dancing (performance or choreography?), the scenery,  the acting... 

Familiarity is quite important to me - so many of Tchaikovsky's tunes are so well known and ingrained, but there don't seem to be so many stand-out moments in Minkus's score for Don Q. 

I suppose it's a mixture of these things in most cases, but why did I not warm to this DVD?

• Like 2

If it's any consolation I've been watching ballet for around 70 years and I find DQ a total bore! The big pas de deux is fun for a gala but that's it as far as I'm concerned. I think it is the story that bores me; have seen it as a play- boring! Wouldn't,even think of reading it, and didn't enjoy Man of La.Mancha when it was a popular musical. So I think to answer your question as to what makes you enjoy a ballet , it's the story. Does it interest you? Do you identify with the characters/situation? With non story ballets it's a bit different. You probably need to identify with the mood, or even just enjoy watching beautiful dancers doing impossible things! I'm in a real minority on this forum about DQ; most people enjoy it, even if not the current Royal Ballet version, so please don't let me put you off.

• Like 4