Nicholas Brothers

I saw a marvellous presentation of clips and some previously unseen home movies of the Nicholas Brothers last night- presented as part of BFI Black Stars season, by Bruce Goldstein, New York cinema man and lifelong fan who made a documentary about them in 1991. 

They are the most sensational dancers and have a definite balletic grace though apparently they were entirely self taught. A short clip of Fred Astaire  (who was also a huge fan of theirs) dancing with them in the back lot of a studio was a most exquisite moment.

My attempts to post a link are not working but I will try again....It has a limited series of showings at Picturehouse cinemas including Brighton on Sunday-but so well worth seeing if you can; the film Stormy Weather featuring one of their best routines is also on limited release.

• Like 5

Thanks! I see it's at the Ritzy, Brixton and Hackney Picturehouses TODAY- Stratford on 4 Nov, and more round the country- well worth going.   Fascinating dance history, and the most joyous music and dance you will see for some time.

Thank you Mary. I hadn't seen this. I am an enormous fan of the Nicholas Brothers and over the years have accumulated every piece of film of their performances I can find. Not only Fred Astaire but also Gene Kelly revered them - in fact he went to great lengths in 1948 to get them to join him in the "Be a Clown" routine - I think their last performance but it's their film work in the 30s that really shows their amazing grace and athleticism. No showings near me but I shall keep trying.

• Like 2