Lower school full time experiences

Dreamy11

I too am starting to think about next year for my dd - (even though we are not sure if dd would be better to wait till year 11!) there are lots of pages already about auditions at different schools but I was wondering about people's experiences at these schools that are current? My dd is very academic also and I guess I'm wondering whether there is much difference between the obvious schools available, do any focus more on dance than academics, any more on classical ballet than others? Anyone who has recently trawled around these schools I would greatly appreciate any advice, many thanks (dd would not be starting as a year 7)

Tring's academics are excellent too, by all accounts.

In terms of focus on classical ballet then I would look at Royal and Elmhurst. At Tring they offer a very comprehensive dance course with classical ballet being a large part of the training. I have no experience of Hammond but their reputation for lower school dance is excellent.

If funding is not an issue then Young Dancers Academy offers academics and very good dance but if I remember rightly they are slightly limited in GCSE options compared to somewhere like Tring.

• Like 1

Thank you both very much for your advice, I feel for dd her choice would be rbs but we have to be realistic!! I really don't know how difficult it would be to get into any of these schools half way through lower school. I don't really just want to apply for all for the sake of it or is that the done thing? any further advice from anyone would be lovely especially if you have children at any, thank you!