Is Rambert a good school?

balletnz

I went for an audition at Rambert at the beginning of March. They were interested in me and would hopefully like me to start there in September 2016, as I am too young for this year. I have questions about the school.

1. How many people apply for the school and get accepted?

2. What is the likelihood of becoming a dancer in the future if I go to Rambert?

3. What is the background? How does the school work?

4. Are there any scholarships or ways I could have a reduction in my tution, as I am an overseas student?

Edited by balletnz
  • Like 1

Rambert is a well regarded school. I would say more liklihood of going into contemporary dance than classical as a result of training there but they do 50/50 and that is not based on much knowledge. My dd auditioned this year and i think they said they get around 400 applications per year and an intake of 50 which they may reduce a bit. Not everyone is selected for audition and they have finals on the same day as the audition. Those recalled onthe day do one or all of their prepared solo, physio, interview. They have a reserve list and this year have a further recall for reserves.

The intake is a range of 16 to over 20 year olds,it seems like a happy place on visiting and the new director seems to have good plans for the school. There were some students who had travelled across the world to be there when my dd auditioned so it must have a strong reputation. There are some videos of the school on youtube.

• Like 2

Hello Balletnz and welcome to the Forum.

I can't answer your question except to say that Rambert is a highly respected school.  There is an earlier thread that, while it is about a male student, covers Rambert School:  

http://www.balletcoforum.com/index.php?/topic/8607-rambert-school-auditionshould-i-or-shouldnt-i/?hl=rambert

It is well worth searching the Doing Dance Forum to find more opinions too.

• Like 1