Boys... equal treatment or encouragement?

Ballet_Is_King

Hello lovely people, just here to ask for your thoughts and feelings on the following:

As a male dance teacher, I am drafting an article about the experience of boys growing up in female heavy dance school environments and how I always detested being shown 'special treatment'. I am entirely of the view that gender is irrelevant in dance and that boys should be treated, judged and assessed by the exact same standards as girls.

In my younger days, I always remember the feeling of embarrassment at festivals; whenever I was pulled forward by an adjudicator, simply because I was the token boy. Or worse, I remember a number of occasions when I placed higher than girls that I knew were a better standard than me, because the adjudicator thought it would be 'encouraging' and help my confidence. I know a number of examiners who also admit to marking boys higher than girls for similar reasons.

If anything I find these things counter productive and yet they are still happening, even in this day and age when more and more boys are engaging enthusiastically with dance. I have discussed this topic at length with other male dancers I grew up with and the consensus of opinion is that, we wanted to dance and we would have stuck at it either way. 

Do you have a dancing son and have you experienced this?

Is it mainly women who do this, or have you experienced the same thing from male teachers/adjudicators etc?

How does this kind of thing make you feel as the parent of a dancing son?

Do you think boys need this kind of special treatment?

What other ways are there of keeping boys engaged with dance if they are the only boy in the class?

• Like 3

I almost forgot to add that I think the leniency shown towards boys today is even more worrying.