IDTA Exams

Tacey

I am a qualified dance teacher both Associate & Licentiate in ballet, tap, freestyle, hip hop & street, musical theatre etc. with UKA association. I decided to apply to become a member of the IDTA and have been accepted. I am a little concerned about the exam format & wondered if people could shine some light please?! Two things, first is it really true that teachers aren't allowed to work the music system during the exams?  I am a complete control freak & hate the thought of having to trust a parent to do this job! Secondly, I'm confused about how many students you are allowed to enter.  It says no two same grades can be entered in on the same session - I have 40 children all due to take primary grade in tap & ballet, so split into groups of 3's that's loads!! Am I to take it I have to organise loads of exam sessions?! Sorry for the rambling & if I am asking silly questions! Any advice or clarification from IDTA teachers would be great!

Thanks so much!

• Like 1

Hi L' Danza. I think you might be confused with the rule that states that no candidate can enter two (of the same) branch grades in one session. Meaning that a child could only do Grade I ballet and not Grade I AND Grade 2 ballet at the same session for example. Does that make sense? I'm sleepy Ha Ha!

The teacher cannot play the music and whoever does play the music has to be hidden from view of the candidates!

Hope that helps.