Help, advice and information on vocational schools.......Please!!!

Lema

Hi all,

As some of you may know I am very new to all this, my daughter has been dancing a few years but only started Ballet classes in the beginning of this year and since then it has been a bit of a whirlwind of auditions, classes and thoughts if vocational school being as she will be going into year 7 next September. I have no experience of vocational schools what so ever and I don't know anyone that's been to one and I really don't know what to expect, so I am asking for any advice from the audition process through to if they get accepted what is it like to go to one, what are the real costs even if you get a funded place I'm sure it is still costly? How often do the children come home? Do they do shows, comps etc what do I really need to know???? So many questions I really would be grateful for any advice from members who have children at vocational school now, in the past, those who have auditioned but didn't get in, those who attended themselves....anything lol :) thank you all x

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hello Lema ,

There are lots of threads on here if you use the search function and look for the school by name and check out the pinned threads at the top of the page , but here are a few answers to your specific questions .

DS has just finished year 7 at Elmhurst

Auditions -at this stage vocational schools are mainly looking for potential and to some extent the right physique , though obviously this changes over the years, musicality and a passion for dance . Don't worry about how much previous experience she has had .

There are usually 2 stages a preliminary audition and then a final audition. There is a lot of competition for only a few places , especially if you need funding as most do , so treat it as a life experience and then if you get in it's a bonus !