Job satisfaction?

alison

Roger Federer last night, having just broken the record for number of weeks (300) at the top of the men's tennis rankings, on why he's still playing:

"Sometimes you're just happy playing. Some people, some media unfortunately don't understand that it's okay just to play tennis and enjoy it. They always think you have to win everything, it always needs to be a success story, and if it's not obviously what is the point. Maybe you have to go back and think, Why have I started playing tennis? Because I just like it. It's actually sort of a dream hobby that became somewhat of a job. Some people just don't get that ever.”

Indeed. Wouldn't it be great if everyone could be that lucky?

• Like 4

• 1 month later...

Neither of my children know what they want to "do" when they're older.

Oldest is almost 17, so it is a frequent discussion. I try to explain that whatever they decide they should try to enjoy it, as they will spend an awful lot of their life working!

I hear of so many adults not happy in their jobs - I know there is not always a choice as bills need to be paid, but for teenagers with the chance to make choices to affect the rest of their life, it is worthy of a lot of soul searching.

Sure, I'd like a dentist and a vet in the family, as I'd save a fortune with a family discount (!) but they need to make that decision (and neither wants to be either of those :( )

It took me until I was 30 to find a job I loved and I really do. Yes, there are moments when I could happily strangle my clients, but day to day I do enjoy what I do and for that I am eternally thankful!

I often think it would be easier if the girls had turned around to me at 10 and said, "Mummy I want to be a ballet dancer"...then I read the Doing Dance forum and realise how hard that path is for everyone involved!

Sx

We are lucky that we live in a time when choosing our life's work is a possibility. ..

I’m not sure that is necessarily true, other than for a small few.