Taking Ballet Exams as an adult

JCS

I can see from other threads I am not the only adult who is doing (or has done) RAD Intermediate Foundation, and I thought I would start a new thread for sharing experiences, past and present.

I started studying the syllabus in the autumn term 2015. Having started with one Inter Foundation class, I am doing two classes each week at RAD HQ and having a private lesson with my local teacher. I had hoped to be able to do the exam in this summer, but my teachers don’t think I am quite ready. I am really hoping for the November/December exam, but it does mean keeping everything up over the school summer holiday.

Pirouettes and allegro are my main problem areas (and also not looking tense!) Pointe work in the centre also needs work.

• Like 1

• Replies 623
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Allegro 2 was such a nightmare! I'm over 6ft tall so changing direction so quick was a challenge, it took me about 3 years before I took my IF exam & I'd spent about 18 months working on IF specifically in my private class, what bits do your teachers think you need to improve? I have to admit I think my expression was fear the whole way through, I have a bitchy resting face too so smiling never really shows through :D 

I did put up the IF exam barring Variation 1 (as I did Variation 2) and the Pointe work (long story related to shoes) this was all taken about a week or two before my exam & something similar was good enough to scrape a merit.

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLKT8wR8jyKbsnLxprk3nxwRGaBx6FfQF1

I also suffer with Pirouettes, mostly with the turnout but also with balance, on the day they were 'ok' but not great, if there's anything you want to ask me I'd be happy to help, I took my exam on Feb the 26th this year.

• Like 5

Hi Sophie