développe a la seconde photo

BlueLou

How do you take a good photo of a dancer doing developpe a la seconde?? I assumed the position had to be ‘held’, and given my photography skills the hold is often for quite a few seconds! However, now thinking that a well-timed 'action shot’ would look a lot better! Is that cheating?? Dd can developpe quite high, but can’t hold it there for very long. Also, to smile or not to smile? Any other photo tips gratefully received too! I’ve just learnt that taking the photos from a seated position makes them look better. I am a novice running out of practise time to get it right! 

Mainly just winging it and a bit of luck on the day. Anything that's not a grimace facially is a bonus. And I've been know to recruit mums to stand and hold the dancers hand while they prepare then quickly run off. iPhones are brill for cropping out parents mid run! When I see developpe a la seconde on any audition form for any student my heart sinks, it's so difficult!

• Like 2

If your camera has the burst option you could try using that, it takes multiple photos in quick succession and then you can pick the best. Alternatively you could video the developpe and then screenshot the one that's just right. This will only work if your video on your camera is good quality as you don't want a blurry screen shot! This way you get get her going into the developpe and holding it for a few seconds in good alignment without worrying about timing when to take the photo. Hope that helps, good luck :)

• Like 4

Are the photos for an audition?