Concerns about vocational school

Piepie

Hi,

I'm new to the dance forum but I really need help in making some decisions about schooling.  

My child is at vocational school, and doing fine in terms of ballet.  However the rest of the schooling is really not good, issues with hiring and retaining academic teachers becoming worse and worse.  My child is really quite bright, and it was a big sacrifice as we had to give up a non-means tested scholarship for an independent school to go to ballet school where we have now been means tested out of receiving any of the MDS.  This would be fine if we only had one child, but we don't so we actually can't afford to go to the school.  

Plus 

• dancing a lot, being guided by people who know about dance
  • child likes it

Minus

• academics rubbish
  • too expensive
  • can't do other sports
  • not sure if a career in dance is a good one anyway

So my query is can I bring them home and provide enough dance training and still give them the opportunity to audition for vocational again at 16 when I feel decisions about the rest of your life might have more weight than at 12, and with nine or ten good GCSEs in hand!  I would love to hear from anyone else who has made this decision, and what it was like for your child when they re-integrated into mainstream.  

Thanks

• Replies 108
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm sorry I can't help with your question but didn't want to read and run. I would like to say that I would be just as concerned as you if my child was not fulfilling their academic potential. Perhaps you could indicate where you live and where you are willing to travel too for classes should you decide full time training is not working for your family.

There are many helpful contributors on this forum who I'm sure will be along to help you soon, good luck.

Edited by shygirlsmum
  • Like 3