Associates for DD

Primaballerina1

Dd would do anything to have a job in later life related to dance in any way (especially ballet) and she tries to look for new things to do eg. Summer schools and master classes. I'm quite new to associates though!DD goes to her local dance school which is held in a church nearby - nothing too special!!- and her teacher hasn't suggested anything to her about associates but DD is really keen to do some. So we have signed up to RAD associates but she may not get a place!

Should DD do associates anyway/audition for some? Can she attend them if her teacher hasn't signed her up to them?

You should speak to her teacher and get permission out of respect for the hard work the teacher puts in. I think the RAD associates are not done by audition. There are many associates posts on here. I believe the next one she could audition for us London Junior Ballet so perhaps contact her teacher and ask her opinion if it would be something good for her. She may feel she is not ready this time around or may rather she wait for a different programme later in the school year. Most associate schemes require a dance teachers signature.

• Like 1

As balletqs says there are lots of threads about Associates. I have added the tag "Associates" to this thread so if you click on it, a list of other threads on the subject will come up.

Or you can search the Doing Dance forum for "Associates".

I think you said your daughter is 12 so if you are within reach of London/South East then Central School of Ballet, London Junior/Senior Ballet, Young Dancers Academy Associates and Tring Park Classical Ballet Academy are all very good.

It would be worth speaking to your dd's teacher about auditioning for Associate schemes.

We have just looked at the other associates you mentioned as we live in South East London and DD likes the sound of Tring.